#4 – Oral task: Learn from blogs and viedo clips

I found Mr. Siu Hoi Yat’s blog quite interesting which covers multifarious topics related to English learning. He often updates his blog and shoot videos to teach the audience how to practice oral speaking.

I have been browsing his blog for a long time. He educates the audience how to familiarize themselves with English in a more effective and amusing way. He encourages us to spend a few minutes every day on English, getting ourselves used to English learning in daily life. I admire his ways to attract his audience to learn, for instance, he usually holds competition for English translation in his blog and Facebook. This kind of competition is both entertaining and educational while the competitors and audience can be inspired. After Stephen Chan Chi Wan proclaimed that “真的假不了”, Mr. Siu organized a competition to translate this line to English, and “You cannot falsify truth, nor verify lies” is the champion.

Besides, Mr. Siu uploaded videos to Youtube, named “How to get rid of Chinglish”(如何擺脫港式英文口音). For example, he teaches how to differentiate “steak” from “stick”, “right” from “ride” and how to pronounce “button” and “apple” in a more natural and native-like way. I always follow him to read the words aloud to improve my accent and his padegogy is quite interacting.

I quite admire Mr. Siu’s belief, “I don’t teach; I share.” Have a look at his blog if you are available!
http://hk.myblog.yahoo.com/siu82english

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment